The Catecholamine society is an international organization consisting of scientists interested in all aspects of catecholamine research.  The founding members of the Catecholamine society in 1968 included J. Axelrod, E. Braunwald, R. Crout, U.S. von Euler, W.M. Manger, G. Nahas, S. Udenfriend, K. Wakim, and H. Weil-Melherbe. Originally, annual meetings of Society members were held in conjunction with the FASEB meetings and were centered around a dinner and a featured talk, and were eventually enlivened by the Society song. An excellent account of the early days of the Society was published in TiPS in 1989.  From 1991-2006, the annual dinners held during the Experimental Biology meetings have included presentations of the Axelrod Medal, a prestigious award honoring distinguished investigators for their contributions to the field of catecholamine research. Beginning in 2007, the Axelrod Medal will become the Julius Axelrod Award of American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics.  The recipient of this award will present a formal lecture at the Experimental Biology meeting and a less formal talk at the Catecholamine society dinner held during the meeting.  Members of the Catecholamine society also receive a regular newsletter with information on scientific meetings, news of members and any other matters of interest to those working on catecholamines.  Members and their fellows are also eligible to apply for a Foundation for Catecholamine Research I.J. Kopin young investigator travel award.
An Article Celebrating the Catecholmine Society's 20th Anniversary

Dixon, WR And CR Creveling. 1989. Archives of the Catecholamine society, twenty years on. TIPS Vol. 10. Pp. 100-2.